Winners announced in the FTA everywoman Transport & Logistics Awards.

These Awards were created by everywoman six years ago, who, alongside industry thought-leaders, identified that a lack of female role models was deterring women from pursuing careers in this fast-moving, continually-evolving sector. By raising the profile of these passionate, inspirational women, the Award programme demonstrates how rewarding a career in transport and logistics is. In particular the Awards’ goal is to reach out to a younger talent pool, crucial to the economic success of an industry that has a disproportionately ageing workforce.

The industry as a whole has accepted a need to proactively promote itself to new job-hunters. The recent FTA Logistics Report revealed that CEOs in transport and logistics are more likely than their counterparts in other sectors to be using workforce development programmes that encouraged diversity as part of their succession planning*. The winners unveiled today will help to raise awareness to job-seekers that the industry is fast-paced, diverse, challenging and satisfying.

The winners in the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2013 are:

Woman of the Year – sponsored by FTA
Jacqui Gavaghan, Performance Director, Reading Transport Limited from Reading

Rising Star of the Year Award – sponsored by Motor Transport
Charlotte Laval, Supplier Performance Service Manager, Wincanton plc from Chippenham

Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by TNT
Shauni O’Neill, Train Operator, London Underground Ltd from London

Director of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Stores Ltd
Lindsay Haselhurst, Development & Marketing Director, Wincanton plc from Chippenham

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by UKWA
Adele Waite, General Manager-Consumer Life Science Division, DHL Supply Chain from Banbury

Industry Champion Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain
Ruth Waring FCILT, Managing Director, Labyrinth Logistics Consulting Ltd from Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Innovation & Sustainability Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain
Danielle Kozlowska, Process Improvement Manager, Stanley Black & Decker from Northampton

Team Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus
Marion Roberts, Station Manager, Network Rail from London

In addition, in recognition of her commitment to championing the role of women in the industry, Nikki King OBE, Managing Director of Izuzu Truck (UK) was presented with the inaugural Spirit of everywoman Award.

Commenting on the awards, Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, said: “The transport and logistics industry in the UK is vast and there are so many opportunities for women with the determination, enthusiasm and passion to succeed. With transport and logistics becoming an ever-evolving, fast moving, technology – driven industry offering long term, sustainable careers, it is critical that the women playing an influencing role in shaping and leading this sector should be celebrated. Today’s winners, boasting a varied skills-set, are examples of this – resourceful, pioneering and innovative women who represent the very essence of what makes the industry great. We are proud to be able to celebrate their achievements and are confident their success will inspire women of all ages, experience and skills-levels to bring their talents to the industry.”

Theo de Pencier, Chief Executive of the Freight Transport Association (FTA) adds: “FTA is exceptionally proud to be the Title Partner of the 2013 everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards. Women are an essential part of every aspect of supply chains, from drivers and warehouse staff, to transport managers and managing directors. Industry cannot be passive in attracting women, and the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are the perfect opportunity to showcase how women can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one which is why FTA is delighted to support this event. FTA is leading by example through the high proportion of female specialists and managers it employs and women also hold key positions on its Operating Board.