The Queen recognises UKs leading entrepreneurs in New Year Honours

Jacqueline Gold, CEO of Ann Summers & Knickerbox, was recognised with a CBE

‘Industry and the economy’ made up 12 per cent of this years honours list. In addition to the recommendations from the Economy Committee for damehoods for Carolyn McCall (EasyJet), Natalie Massenet (Net-A-Porter), and Judith Hackitt (HSE), there is a knighthood for Robert Stheeman, CEO, Debt Management Office; a knighthood for Alan Yarrow, lately Lord Mayor of London; and a knighthood for David Norgrove, Chair, Low Pay Commission and Chair, Family Justice Board.

Some of the highlights of this years list are:

DBE (Dame)

Carolyn Julia McCall, chief executive officer 0f EasyJet for services to the aviation industry.

Natalie Sara Massenet, MBE. Internet entrepreneur and founder, Net-A-Porter Group. For services to the fashion and retail Industries.


Jacqueline Gold. Chief executive, Ann Summers and Knickerbox. For services to entrepreneurship, women in business and social enterprise.

Samir Desai. Co-founder of peer to peer website Funding Circle. For services to financial services.

Caroline Helen Theobald. Founder and managing director, Bridge Club Ltd. For services to business and entrepreneurship.

Anthony Charles Preston. Founder, Pets at Home. For services to UK business, entrepreneurship and philanthropic service to charity.


Giles Andrews, co-founder of peer to peer lender Zopa. For services to financial services.

Amanda Boyle. Founder and chief executive officer, Bloom VC. For services to business.

Simon Devonshire. Entrepreneur and European director of Wayra, For services to enterprise, enterprise promotion and humanitarian issues.

Nicola Ann Gott. Founder and director, She’s Gott It. For services to women in business and female entrepreneurship in the north-east.

Kala Patel. Managing director, Kiddycare Limited (nurseries). For services to the childcare business.

Philip David Shadbolt. Managing director, Zeta Specialist Lighting. For services to business and innovation.


Rebecca Bright. Founder, Therapy Box. For services to app development for people with communication difficulties.

Malcolm Copley Hall. Founder and managing director, Hall-Fast Industrial Supplies Ltd. For services to business.

Alison Lewy. Founder, Fashion Angel. For services to the fashion industry.

Rekha Mehr. Former entrepreneur-in-resident at Department for Business, Innovation and Skills. For services to enterprise.

Judith Ower. Founder and chief executive, Playmob. For services to entrepreneurship.

Clare Frances Sutcliffe. Founder and chief executive, Code Club. For services to technology education.

Emma Jane Lewis Woods. Owner, Duncombe Sawmill. For services to rural business and skills in North Yorkshire.

Order of Merit

Sir James Dyson. Founder of Dyson. For services to industrial design.

British Empire Medal

Aatin Ashok Anadkat. Managing director, Hotel Maiyango, Leicester. For services to entrepreneurship.