Lord Mandelson set to announce the FT & Goldman Sachs business book of the year

The longlist for this prestigious Award, which was announced yesterday, aims to identify the book providing the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.
The books on the longlist are:
Animal Spirits
George A. Akerlof & Robert J. Shiller
Rob Goffee & Gareth Jones
Chris Anderson
Good Value
Stephen Green
House of Cards
William D. Cohan
How the Mighty Fall
Jim Collins
Imagining India
Nandan Nilekani
In Fed We Trust
David Wessel
Lords of Finance
Liaquat Ahamed
The Match King
Frank Partnoy
The Myth of the Rational Market
Justin Fox
Rosabeth Moss Kanter
This Time is Different
Carmen M. Reinhart & Kenneth S. Rogoff
Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal
Tristram Stuart
Why Your World is About to Get a Whole Lot Smaller
Jeff Rubin
A shortlist of six books determined by this year’s Award judging panel will be announced on 17th September. The overall winner of the 2009 Book Award will be announced at a gala dinner at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London on 29th October. The winning author will receive £30,000 and the other five shortlisted authors will each receive £5,000.
The judging panel is:

  • Lionel Barber, Editor, Financial Times
  • Lloyd C. Blankfein, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.
  • Mario Monti, President of the Bocconi University of Milan and the first Chairman of Bruegel
  • Helen Alexander, President, CBI
  • Lynda Gratton, Professor, London Business School
  • Alexander S. Friedman, Chief Financial Officer, The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

The Award is designed to highlight the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics.