Entrepreneur Of The Year put prison behind her thanks to Prince Charles

Gina Moffatt, the owner of a chain of cafes and a blooming lovely floristry business called Blooming Scent Cafés in Tottenham, north London, was released from HMP Holloway in 2008 after a four-year sentence.

But she has gone on to become a prolific and well-loved member of the community, utilising her skills to not only run her string of businesses but assist and motivate other ex-offenders.

Accepting her award Moffat shared the inspiring vision she had many years ago that she would one day “sit with kings and queens”.

Her phrophetic dream came through having met Prince Charles and other members of the royal family on a number of occasions through her involvement with the The Prince’s Trust.

Moffatt was one of many commendable men and women who came together to celebrate their achievements at the Institute of Directors in central London on October 22.

The Precious awards were created by Foluke Akinlose MBE in 2007 to recognise British women of colour in the business industry.

Another big winner of the night was Patrick Vernon OBE who was awarded Man of the Year, beating the likes of Levi Roots and Tim Campbell.

A filmmaker and historian, the social commentator has used his experiences to mentor young people and also uses his skills to tell the untold stories of Black Britain.

The former Hackney councillor, originally from Wolverhampton, is also the founder of 100 Great Black Britons and Every Generation Media.

On receiving his award, Vernon said: “I hope to use the award to support and encourage women to their business ideas and to develop their political ambitions.”

The event was hosted by businesswoman Jessica Huie MBE and motivational speaker Rashid Ogunlaru.


Entrepreneur of the Year award – Gina Moffat

The SME Business of the Year – Tweezy, Founder Sunny Choudhery

Young Entrepreneur of the Year – Bianca Miller, The founder of The Be Group

Social Enterprise of the Year – Three Sisters Care

Outstanding Woman in the Creative Industries – Jasmine Dotiwala

Outstanding Woman in Science, Engineering, Technology and Mathematics (STEM) – Yewande Akinola, environmental services engineer at Arup

The Precious Leadership Award – Tessy Ojo, chief executive of The Diana Award

Best Diversity Programme – Eversheds

Best Career Progression Programme – Natasha Faith, co-founder of La Diosa

The Precious Man of the Year – Social Commentator, Patrick Vernon OBE