Karren Brady leads the search for the best of British business

Judged by a panel of respected industry figures including leading business woman and star of BBC1’s The Apprentice, Karren Brady, winners of each of the six categories receive £2,000 cash and 50,000 Nectar points and a host of prizes from Nectar Business partners, Viking, DHL Express and Brakes.

Open until 31st May 2012, the awards celebrate innovation, acknowledge best practice and dedication and recognise outstanding achievements in business. All UK SMEs, social enterprises and entrepreneurs that can demonstrate innovative and sustainable business ideas can enter each of the following six categories:

  • Small Business of the Year
  • Business Achiever The Year
  • Best Use of Technology
  • Innovation of the Year
  • International Trader of the Year
  • Contribution to the Community Award

Businesses can enter simply by filling in an entry form. Entries can then be submitted online, via email or post.

Joining Karren Brady on the judging panel is Nectar’s Marketing Director, James Frost, small business journalist and author, Guy Clapperton, Merchandising and Marketing Director of Viking UK and Ireland, John O’Keeffe and the Nectar Business Entrepreneur of the Year 2011 winner, CEO of Swimovate, Lisa Irlam.

Karren Brady commented: “I’m honoured to be part of the judging team for the Nectar Business Small Business Awards 2012 for the second year running, as they recognise hard working entrepreneurs and small businesses throughout the UK who work tirelessly to make their businesses a success. Small businesses are the driving force behind the UK economy – there are so many successful entrepreneurs out there so I’m delighted to be able to commend them in this way.”

James Frost, Marketing Director at Nectar, added: “The Nectar Business programme is all about rewarding hard-working companies and the Nectar Business Small Business Awards 2012 go one step further by paying tribute to the cream of British talent. We have a new set of categories this year, introducing awards for International Trader of the Year and Best Use of Technology so we’re excited to see which great new companies will step forward and use this opportunity to showcase their success.”