Make your opinion count – vote for Britain’s top leader

The 2011 nominees beat hundreds of top business leaders from a diverse range of business sectors to get to the final. And, they have at least one thing in common – they demonstrate the drive to succeed in any business climate through outstanding leadership with impressive tangible results to show for. 
The nominees are:
Julian Dunkerton, CEO, SuperGroup
Julian is responsible for the UK Retail Division in addition to his role as CEO. A champion of the British design industry, Julian established the Superdry clothing brand eight years ago with James Holder. He has worked exclusively in the retail sector for over 25 years, co-founding Cult from a market stall in Cheltenham and turning it into a successful retail chain.
Dr Mike Lynch, CEO, Autonomy Corporation
Dr Mike Lynch OBE is the founder of the largest software company in the UK, and the second largest software company in Europe – the FTSE 50-listed Autonomy Corporation. Having navigated Autonomy from a Cambridge start-up to a $7bn company employing over 2,600 people, Dr Lynch has demonstrated that British technology is truly world-class.
Ruby McGregor-Smith, CEO, MITIE Group
Ruby joined MITIE, the FTSE 250 strategic outsourcing and energy services company, in 2002 and was appointed as CEO in 2007. During her tenure, Ruby has grown the business from £0.5billion in revenues to nearly £2billion, witnessing its entry into the FTSE250 and profits reaching in excess of £100million. She has overseen MITIE’s employee base tripling to over 62,000 people – making MITIE one of the UK’s largest private sector employers.
Ian Tyler, CEO, Balfour Beatty
Ian joined Balfour Beatty 15 years ago, and has been Director of the company since 1999. He became Chief Executive in January 2005, having been Chief Operating Officer since 2002 and prior to that, Finance Director. Ian Tyler steered Balfour Beatty to £319m in pre-tax profits in 2010 and is renowned for leading the most forward-thinking construction business in the country.
Jasmine Whitbread, International CEO, Save the Children
Jasmine became the first international CEO of Save the Children in April 2010, after serving as Chief Executive of Save the Children UK from 2005. Jasmine has combined her business training with a passion to make a difference at Save the Children. In her own words, “our not-for-profit business is still a business – but one where the bottom line is saving children’s lives.”
In addition to sharing their thoughts on inspirational leaders and leadership styles, the Orange Leader 2011 nominees, have also agreed to reveal little known facts about themselves to camera.
One of the CEO’s claims to create chaos wherever they go, whilst another is a lip-reading expert, well most of the time that is…
Announcing the nominees, Martin Stiven, Vice President of Business, Orange, said: “The Orange Leader of the Year award recognises exceptional leadership skills from a wide range of business sectors, across public, private and third sector.  Businesses that have performed the best over this very challenging year are those with exceptional leaders at the helm. 
The Orange Leader of the Year accolade recognises and rewards innovation and excellence in business leadership and will be presented to the individual who best represents outstanding achievement and has demonstrated exceptional business acumen and vision over the last 18 months.
Chaired by Baroness Virginia Bottomley of Nettlestone, both the judging and public vote will carry equal weight in the final award decision and the winner will be announced at the National Business Awards gala dinner, organised by UBM plc, at the Grosvenor House, London on Tuesday 8th November, where George Osborne, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, will deliver this year’s welcome address. 
“The economic climate continues to present UK businesses with an unprecedented challenge:  it is therefore particularly encouraging that the entries in this year’s National Business Awards have shown no drop in quality or performance. Congratulations to all nominees for demonstrating tremendous strength in their ability to adapt and innovate which no doubt reflects the resilience and optimism that are the hallmarks of UK enterprise”, said Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone, Chair of Judges, the National Business Awards.
The Orange Leader of the Year accolade was launched in 2009 when it was awarded to Peter Marks, CEO, the Co-operative Group; the current title holder and 2010 award winner is Martin McCourt, CEO, Dyson.
This is the only National Business Awards accolade that is voted for by the business community and the general public.
To vote for your Orange Leader of the Year 2011 Visit – voting is open to midnight 28th October 2011.