Smith & Williamson Invites UK’s Leading Entrepreneurs to Enter the National Business Awards

The Smith & Williamson Entrepreneur of the Year Award celebrates the qualities of successful entrepreneurship, from drive, ambition, vision and tenacity to inspirational leadership, inventiveness and confidence.

The award will recognise an enterprising individual that has achieved the highest and most sustained levels of growth and financial performance through a culture of innovation, market knowledge and talent development. In 2012, the award went to Colin Stevens of Better Bathrooms for his ambitious approach to developing a thriving retail business, while in 2011 Paul Lindley, founder of Ella’s Kitchen, was recognised for the successful building of his brand.

Kevin Stopps, managing partner at Smith & Williamson LLP, commented: “We are delighted to be sponsoring this award, and pledging our support for the spirit of entrepreneurship and enterprise. Entrants in the past have been very impressive, and we look forward to seeing the high standards continue this year.”

Guy Rigby, head of Smith & Williamson’s entrepreneurial services group and chair of the judging panel added: “There is an increasing understanding in all areas of society that entrepreneurs are the lifeblood of the future. This award is designed for those who combine innovation with implementation, creating successful, sustainable businesses. We are delighted to be supporting the entrepreneurial cause.”

In his 2013 Budget speech, George Osborne announced several initiatives that underline the government’s commitment to supporting entrepreneurs, and creating an “aspiration nation”.

Alex Evans, National Business Awards programme director said: “At a time when UK plc needs entrepreneurs to release their full potential to restore economic growth, this award seeks out the most exemplary and enterprising leaders to inspire the nation. All eyes will be on this year’s shortlist to see who is setting the standard for entrepreneurship in the 21st century.”

The deadline for entries is 5.00pm on 24th May 2013